Starting a new project so needs some advice, also first time poster!

Warm season grasses like Bermuda, Zoysia, St. Augustine, Centipede & Paspalum
Topic Author
Krs1
Grass Type: Unknown
Lawn Size: 500
Mower: None

Starting a new project so needs some advice, also first time poster!

Post by Krs1 »

Hello everyone this is my first time posting and brand new to the forum. So in a nutshell we sold our home and moved To our dream home 2 blocks from the beach in north San Diego county. Our prior house I had a beautiful tiff green hybrid Bermuda that I had over seeded with perennial rye because there was a large Jacaranda tree in the middle of the lawn. I had a greens master 1000, and by the time we moved out I had to almost where I wanted it to be.

I live in a townhome that has a medium to small patio, backyard that is south facing (SSW facing between 170-220). Its surrounded by a 3’ retaining wall and a 5’ clear glass pane on top of it. The unique thing I have noticed is that the patio stays very warm because of that even on cold days like today that’s a high of 65 the patio stays between the high 70’s and low 80’s and I know a warm season grass will go off due to this green house effect.

So my tentative plan:
•remove all the concrete and trees in the pics ( don’t worry the large cactus will stay)
•get a soil test of what’s underneath the concrete and amend as needed
•start plumbing the sprinkler system, test and adjust
•lay sod and care for it like my baby!