A place to discuss plant nutrients, soil fertility and soil amendments
Topic Author
MarineOh3
Grass Type: KBG
Lawn Size: 6k
Mower: Toro GM1000 / Honda HRX

First Soil Test

Post by MarineOh3 »

Hey all. Just got my first soils test back for the turf. I am by no means an expert so was curious to hear thoughts. Super high calcium and magnesium which I think is indicative of a clay-heavy soil.

Soil ph is 7.6.

Robs92k
TLF Supporter
Grass Type: KBG/ Rye
Lawn Size: 92000
Mower: Gravely ProZX 60/ JD 1023E

Re: First Soil Test

Post by Robs92k »

Welcome to the high PH club! This is very similar to mine in WI. Biggest tips I can give you:

Use Ammonium Sufate as your primary source of Fast N (reduces ph and helps you work around it).

Iron is also likely bound, so you’ll likely benefit from foliar iron apps (FAS). More info on these are in the cool season guide and soil amendment threads.

Others will likely answer more expertly, but again, very similar to my tests. You shouldn’t have much problem growing an amazing turf!

Topic Author
MarineOh3

Post by MarineOh3 »

Robs92k wrote:
Tue Oct 26, 2021 10:06 am
Welcome to the high PH club! This is very similar to mine in WI. Biggest tips I can give you:

Use Ammonium Sufate as your primary source of Fast N (reduces ph and helps you work around it).

Iron is also likely bound, so you’ll likely benefit from foliar iron apps (FAS). More info on these are in the cool season guide and soil amendment threads.

Others will likely answer more expertly, but again, very similar to my tests. You shouldn’t have much problem growing an amazing turf!