Lawn Care Forum banner

JerseyGreens 2022 - BlueBank KBG Mono - Front

141K views 962 replies 67 participants last post by  Ben4Birdies 
#1 ·
2022 Lawn Journal Link

2021 Journal Below (pages 1-30)

Hello fellow Cool Season Lawn Family - hope everyone is doing well and healthy!

Well this Winter in Jersey was pretty brutal. Got above average snowfall and below average temps.

This is my first year coming out from the Fall Reno...I'm quite worried about the shape...or more so color of my lawn right now as I've never had a 100% KBG Lawn...

The beautiful Green(er) sections were guarded from the Winter Sun by my home. My house faces North so parts of my front yard stayed in nearly constant shade over the winter - shaded by the house...those areas have a nice shade of color. The rest of the lawn well - to me looks like crap but I guess its normal for a Fall Reno coming into it's first Spring.

If any of experts notice something truly "off" with some of these pictures - just let me know. I do see some green in all of the areas even the worst areas. Hoping this is just Par for the course!

3/25/2021 Soil Test:

See less See more
#2 ·
My mazama reno looks similar. I do see poa a in mine though so quite upset about that but hoping to suppress with tenacity and pgr. Just glad we got through the washouts last year. I remember seeing the storms coming from you to me and crying as my little seeds washed away.

#4 ·
@JerseyGreens It's over. You need to start planning another reno for this lawn... No I'm just kidding. The color will be back before you know it. My lawn looks similar now. If you by any chance had a cold snap without snow cover this winter it can really kill the color of the grass. It will green up soon. Get your spoon feeding pants on for the spring and watch if thicken.

#5 ·
@Jay20nj - last year was wild with those washouts. I still have screenshots of some of the radar maps...purple/pinks right over my house about 3 storms but we made it!