Lawn Care Forum banner

Total noob here, with some questions?

27K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  GreenLand 
#1 ·
Hey all,

New member here, and also a complete newbie when dealing with lawns. My main question is, can you recommend which organic week killer for me to use? My main concern is that we're very pet/animal friendly and get a ton of wild critters (foxes, deer, etc.) as well as stray/feral cats, and the occasional dog that escaped, so I want to bee 1000% sure it's non-toxic for all of them.

I know that there are some that say right on the label that they're non-toxic, but I'd rather take the opinions of actual experienced users than just a label full of marketing.

If it helps in choosing which weed killer to use based on which weeds I have, it seems like I've got a little bit of everything :lol:

I don't know exactly what they are by name however; I think clover and obviously dandelions are at least 2 of them. Here are some pics:

Thanks in advance for any help!

See less See more
#2 ·
Not sure what "nontoxic" products you're looking at or what exactly you're trying to accomplish. If you use things like vinegar or salt or boiling water, it will kill everything, not just the weed (and also affect the soil and earthworms and other soil critters). Take a look at the labels on some selective herbicides that kill weeds but not grass (for example, WeedBGon) and read the safety information. Maybe you're ok with using a product that dries in a certain amount of time and then is harmless to animals? Maybe not.

Read the herbicide info in the cool season maintenance guide here:
https://thelawnforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=1595
And this:
https://thelawnforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=6334
If you know the weeds, you can target them with the correct killer. You can spot spray, you don't have to spray everything. If you use them, you should follow all the protective clothing guidelines and other precautions (like no wind, temperature below such and such).