New (to me) system that seems to lack pressure

Irrigation systems, sprinklers & other watering topics
Post Reply
AndrewFL
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: South Florida
Grass Type: St Augustine
Lawn Size: 0.25 acre
Mower: Toro

New (to me) system that seems to lack pressure

Post by AndrewFL » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:22 pm

Just bought a house with what I believe is a 2 zone irrigation system, pump fed from well water. I went to run it the other day and I'm not quite sure what is going on - but I'm getting a lot of water pouring out what I guess is some sort of diverter (apologize for not using correct terminology). I presume it has a pipe for each zone (front and rear) and then two remaining pipes that are without any connection, but the water pours out of them ....therefore there's barely enough water pressure to force the sprinklers out of the ground.
Image

Image

Image

Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Andrew
Last edited by AndrewFL on Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
g-man
Moderator
Posts: 5594
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:32 pm
Location: Fishers, IN
Grass Type: Northern Mix
Lawn Size: 5678
Mower: John Deere 220E

Re: New (to me) system that seems to lack pressure

Post by g-man » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:44 pm

Welcome to TLF.

This system has a special valve called indexing valve. In a normal system the controller turns each zone on and off via wires. An indexing valve is a mechanical device that uses the water flow to switch between zones. It seems like it is setup for 4 zones instead of two or it is broken. I've never used one, so I can be of much help.

This looks like the one you have (brand K-rain).
https://www.sprinklerwarehouse.com/3-Zo ... p/4403.htm

AndrewFL
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: South Florida
Grass Type: St Augustine
Lawn Size: 0.25 acre
Mower: Toro

Re: New (to me) system that seems to lack pressure

Post by AndrewFL » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:56 pm

Ah ha, thank you for naming that part! Now I can do some digging on how to operate it or change zones and determine if it's user error or truly broken. Thanks again!

User avatar
g-man
Moderator
Posts: 5594
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:32 pm
Location: Fishers, IN
Grass Type: Northern Mix
Lawn Size: 5678
Mower: John Deere 220E

Re: New (to me) system that seems to lack pressure

Post by g-man » Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:38 am

No problem. Keep us updated on what you find. It could help someone in the future.

Post Reply