Cool season grasses like Kentucky Bluegrass, Fescue & Rye
ForsheeMS
Grass Type: TTTF
Lawn Size: 19,000
Mower: Hustler X-One

Cool Season Overseed Guide

Post by ForsheeMS »

Introduction
There seems to be a lot of interest here on the forums for an overseed guide so I’m going to give it my best shot. Keep in mind, this is primarily for TTTF or PRG lawns. Some of these ideas will work with KBG but that’s a totally different animal so someone with more KBG experience could do a separate write up for that. I’m no professional and this guide is comprised of techniques I’ve tried over the years and has worked very well. Every lawn is a little different so slight adjustments or changes might need to be made for each individual situation but this should be really close for anyone overseeing a TTTF or PRG lawn.

First let me say this. One of the most important things you can do for your lawn is a soil test. I won’t go into a lot of detail here but if you’re going to put effort into making your lawn better this is the easiest and cheapest way. If the soil does not contain the proper balance of nutrients nothing else you do will make it any better. Guessing here is only going to cause pain, suffering and bad results.

Seed selection: I start with good quality seed that is 100% free of weed seeds. No sense in starting out with weeds. Yes, it will cost a little more but will be well worth it come next spring when you have a beautiful weed free lawn. There are several well known companies that sell quality seed. I’ve had good luck with The Hogan Company. With coated seeds, you are paying more for less seeds (50% seeds/filler), so must of us avoid them.

Overseed: